March Book Round Up

March has been great in the book department. I’ve gotten to two books on the reading list I made before. I’ve read some additional books on the side. There was only one disappointment in the mix. I’ve definitely needed the stories this month. I needed to forget the stress of everyday life at the end of the day. Reading before bed gets me ready for sleep. So, to catch you up, here are my notable choices.

BOOKS I’VE READ

Miranda and Caliban by Jacqueline Carey

A retelling of Shakespeare’s The Tempest by my favorite author was something I couldn’t turn down. The book tells the story of Miranda’s formative years and the events of the play. It also presents Caliban and Miranda as being in love. Overall, it’s a  good read. I just felt like the ending could have been fleshed out a bit more.25670396

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

This book was absolutely delightful. The stories of the gods were amazing. It was the right amount of myth and humor. It was a light version of American Gods. The interactions between Thor and Loki make the entire book. I loved reading about Sif and the other Aesir as well.

Currently Reading:

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I’m loving this book. Kvothe is an amazing hero. It’s got magic, dragons, and sword fighting. What more can you want from a book? I hear it is being made into a television series. I think, if they stayed true to the source material, it would work well. I plan on the reading the sequel, The Wise Man’s Fear when I can get a copy. I hope the author finishes Doors of Stone one day.186074

Planned Read:

The Shadow Revolution: Crown & Key by Clay and Susan Griffith. 

It’s novel about steampunk, alchemy, and monster fighting. I’ve been wanting to read this for a long time. I’ll let you know how it is.

Leave a Reply

